Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

74 Super vert speedo diagram
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
edowney
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:58 pm    Post subject: 74 Super vert speedo diagram Reply with quote

Hi Folks,

I've been working on my speedo for the past several months. The odometer didn't spin - fixed that. The fuel guage didn't register so I replaced he sending unit (because it was easy). I also found someone who would sell me a vibrator for the speedo hoping that was the issue. I went and hooked up all of those funky colored wires to the back the speedo based on a diagram I drew when I removed the wires originally. Apparently I goofed 'cause when I hit the ignition I blew the far right fuse. I have the bently service manual. But how do you know where the wires plug into the speedo? Some I could figure out but others I wasn't sure. Is there a diagram listing what's what on the back of the speedo somewhere? Thanx!
Bugs'n'Pugs
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:40 pm    Post subject: Wiring Diagram for Super Beetle Speedometer Reply with quote

Here is a diagram for a Super Beetle Speedometer from Rob and Dave's Aircooled Volkswagen Pages:

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
mnussbau
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Three pics from my '74 vert...

79SuperFlyer
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:12 pm    Post subject: Jumpy Speedometer Needle Reply with quote

Another Super speedometer question: Does a "jumpy" speedometer needle likely signify a faulty cable, or a faulty speedometer?
kristopher staller